July 10, 2018

The Super 8’s

For the first time since the back door system was introduced, the All Ireland Senior Football Championship has undergone a seismic change. The Super 8’s is here. The 8 best teams from this year’s championship have qualified for the quarter finals, but instead of having one game, they will have 3 in a round robin series of games. It’s going to test teams resolve, fitness, squad depth, mental toughness and much more. As far as we’re concerned, it is going to be fantastic. Top qualify football matches week in, week out!

We now know that provincial champions Dublin, Galway, Donegal and Kerry will be joined by Tyrone, Roscommon, Kildare and Monaghan. Each team (or most at least) will have one home game, one away game and one Croke Park game. There will be 2 groups, consisting of 4 teams.

Group 1:

Kerry – Shop Kerry GAA HERE.

Galway – Shop Galway GAA HERE.

Kildare – Shop Kildare GAA HERE.

Monaghan – Shop Monaghan GAA HERE.

Group 2:

Dublin – Shop Dublin GAA HERE.

Donegal – Shop Donegal GAA HERE.

Roscommon – Shop Roscommon GAA HERE.

Tyrone – Shop Tyrone GAA HERE.

Supporters and critics have been calling for the GAA to match the best teams up against each other on a more regular basis, in the white hot heat of championship action. Now they have their wish.

The next few weeks are going to be hugely exciting. Only 4 teams can progress to the semi finals. Who is it going to be? Time will tell!

Shop all things GAA in-store at Intersport Elverys or online HERE.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.